Former GHOST Guitarist MARTIN PERSNER Releases Music Video For MAGNA CARTA CARTEL’s “Darling”

CARTEL MAGNA CARTA — the Swedish group with former PHANTOM guitarist Martin Persner — released their latest album, “The Option to Die”in June via Vernal vow registers and Border music distribution. The official music video for the latest single from the LP, “Sweetheart”, seen below. The clip was directed by a renowned filmmaker Claudio Marino (FREAK, EXPECT, KING TYPE). The B side of “Sweetheart” consists of a slowed down, stripped down version of the same track, where CARTEL MAGNA CARTA utilizes its imbued acoustic guitars and electric choruses, along with a cloudy floor of analog synth strings. This dreamier version of the song is taken from the next “MCC Live at Nielsen Søund”a two-part live video showing CARTEL MAGNA CARTA playing old and new songs in their headquarters.

CARTEL MAGNA CARTA creates cinematic themes with captivating melodies and poetic lyrics. “The Option to Die” offers a ticket into a mood rarely seen or heard in modern music. Here they manage to use classic rock to create a vibe beyond the usual rock riffs of today and deliver ten fantastic songs far beyond what anyone would have expected. This 10 track album was produced by Niels Nielsen (IN FIRE, PHANTOM, DEAD SOUL) in the same way CARTEL MAGNA CARTA and features works of art from both Claudio Marino and David M. Brinley (PHANTOM).

“Sweetheart” is described in a press release as “singing in a friendly and grand chorus, with ABBA– quality production. The electronic elements of the song were developed with Nielsen and are yet another variable that impresses and elevates the band’s multi-faceted soundscape to new heights.”

Martin said: “This album is a collection of songs that, all in their own way, deal with feelings and experiences of inner storms of unwanted change. While it may sound sad, it’s quite the opposite. A lullaby from a sleepless place. A manual for living in times of uncertainty. A whispering companion for those who wait. A suggestion for those who can’t cope. So lend us your ears and we’ll sing you a song and we’ll try to not sing out of this world.”

“The Option to Die” track list:

01. Arrows
02. The silence
03. Sweetheart
04. Sleepy Eye June
05. Avant-garde
06. don’t look now
07. Tamsa
08. Valkyrie
09. Dusk
ten. The option to die


Martin Persner – Vocals & Guitar
Arvid Persner – Drums & Guitar
By Glendor – Bass guitar

CARTEL MAGNA CARTA was resurrected in 2017 after a nine-year dormant period when the members were on the road with PHANTOM.

In March 2017, persner posted a video message in which he claimed to have starred in PHANTOM for seven years under the name Omega. He also revealed that he left the group in July 2016, although he did not reveal his reasons for leaving.

persner was not part of the lawsuit filed in early 2017 by four former members of PHANTOM against the singer and founder of the group, Tobie Forge. This lawsuit accused To forge to mislead musicians about their rightful share of profits from the band’s album releases and world tours.

Photo credit: Claudio Marino