Jimi Hendrix Experience – Los Angeles Forum 1969 – Music Connection Magazine

Experience Hendrix LLC in partnership with Legacy Recordings, a division of Sony Music Entertainment, launches Jimi Hendrix Experience Los Angeles Forum: April 26, 1969 this November 18 on 2LP vinyl, CD and all digital platforms.

Recorded in the spring of 1969 to a raucous, sold-out audience, the gripping performance by the original lineup (singer/guitarist Jimi Hendrix, drummer Mitch Mitchell, bassist Noel Redding) has never been released in its entirety. This album comes out in time for the 80se anniversary of the birth of Jimi Hendrix (November 27).

The Jimi Hendrix Experience – Los Angeles Forum: April 26, 1969 track list:

  1. Introduction
  2. tax free
  3. Lady Foxey
  4. red house
  5. Magic of Spanish castles
  6. Star-Spangled Banner
  7. purple mist
  8. I don’t live today
  9. Voodoo child (slight return)
  10. sun of your love
  11. Voodoo child (slight return)

The liner notes are from old Los Angeles Times writer/critic Randy Lewis with a foreword by Billy Gibbons of ZZ Top who attended the Hendrix Forum show, having toured with the Experience, as part of the Moving Sidewalks, his pre-ZZ band.

After the resounding success of the Jimi Hendrix Experience studio album 1967-68, a trifecta (are you experienced, Axe: Bold as love, electric ladyland), the trio had become rock music’s most popular international touring attraction.

This large-scale public interest coincided with the construction of new arenas for sporting events, including the Forum in Inglewood, California. Designed by famed architect Charles Luckman (who also designed the rebuilt Madison Square Garden in New York City), this multipurpose venue opened in 1967 as the home of the Los Angeles Kings hockey team and the basketball Los Angeles Lakers, but also began to serve as a music room.

Among the first gigs staged were Aretha Franklin in January 1968 and the Cream farewell tour with opening act Deep Purple in October of that year. The Jimi Hendrix Experience was booked to perform on April 26, 1969 with first acts Chicago Transit Authority (soon to be renamed Chicago) and Cat Mother & The All Night Newsboys, the latter sharing direction with the headliners. Floor seats are $6.50.

A press announcement from Legacy Recordings and About Experience Hendrix, LLC outlines Hendrix’s upcoming 2022 retail product.

“By the time the Jimi Hendrix Experience took the stage to blaze through a fiery backdrop, the sound of live concerts had improved dramatically from the days of The Beatles’ baseball stadium tours, but crowd control was always a major concern. Between songs, Jimi pleaded with audience members to stop rushing onto the stage. A heavy police presence is felt; the lyrics of their hit “Purple Haze” are changed (“Excuse me while I’m kissing that policeman!”) and Jimi dedicates “Spanish Castle Magic” to “undercover police and other idiots”.

“Hendrix treated each performance as a unique event. He never relied on a standard set list consisting only of his biggest commercial hits. This approach was on full display during the Forum performance, blending more familiar tunes such as “Foxey Lady” with “I Don’t Live Today” from are you experienced and his original blues signature “Red House” (“Everyone wants to know what America’s soul is; everyone thinks it’s Motown… America’s soul is something more like this here”) which had not yet been released in the United States at that time.

Additionally, the band opened their set with a cover of ‘Tax Free’ – an obscure 1967 instrumental by Swedish duo Hansson & Karlsson (composed of Bo Hansson and Janne Karlsson), with whom the Experience had previously shared posters. in Stockholm. Another unique highlight featured in the Forum performance was an early reimagining of “The Star Spangled Banner”, which Jimi would canonize four months later at Woodstock. “Here’s a song we’ve all been brainwashed with,” says Jimi emphatically, at a time when the nation was in a state of great political turmoil. The band closed their performance with a unique and extraordinary mix of “Voodoo Child (Slight Return)” and Cream’s “Sunshine of Your Love”. The song was an Experience favorite and a perfect live vehicle for the trio’s unrivaled improvisational skills.



Also released during Jimi Hendrix’s 80s monthe birthday is the book JIMIpublished by Chronicle Chroma.

JIMI is a visually stunning, specially curated 320-page deluxe hardcover book written by Janie Hendrix and John McDermott. Childhood stories, rarely seen photos and candid images, dedications and inspiring anecdotes will give fans a taste of the music legend’s groundbreaking artistry.

A press release from Chronicle Chroma details the volume.

“It’s hard to imagine that Jimi would be 80 years old… Maybe it’s because he will always remain young in our minds and alive in our hearts,” says Janie Hendrix, co-author, sister of Jimi Hendrix and President and CEO of Experience Hendrix. “We celebrate his inspirational life with this beautifully crafted tribute to Jimi that showcases a collection of images, art and memorabilia that tell his story not just as a legendary guitarist and musician, but as an incomparable human being who so briefly graced planet Earth with his presence.

“Chronicle Chroma is an imprint of Chronicle Books LLC chroniclechroma.com. JIMI is an official collaboration with Janie Hendrix and John McDermott of Experience Hendrix LLC, and significantly expands on the authors’ previously published titles, including An Illustrated Experience.

“The collective work also includes a new intro by Janie, extensive biographical material, and a wealth of photographs, personal memorabilia, handwritten lyrics, and more, providing full access inside in a way that fans will never know. ‘ve never seen before. Additionally, JIMI includes quotes from musicians, such as Paul McCartney, Ron Wood, Jeff Beck, Lenny Kravitz, Drake, Dave Grohl and others expressing their feelings about Jimi’s lasting influence.

Photo of Metallica’s Kirk Hammett by Lonn Friend

Harvey Kubernik is the author of 20 books, including Canyon Of Dreams: The Magic And The Music Of Laurel Canyon in 2009 and Turn Up The Radio in 2014! Rock, Pop and Roll in Los Angeles 1956-1972. Sterling/Barnes and Noble released The Story Of The Band: From Big Pink To The Last Waltz by Harvey and Kenneth Kubernik in 2018. In 2021 they wrote Jimi Hendrix: Voodoo Child for Sterling/Barnes and Noble. Otherworld Cottage Industries in 2020 released Harvey’s Docs That Rock, Music That Matters.

Kubernik’s writings appear in several book anthologies, including The Rolling Stone Book Of The Beats and Drinking With Bukowski. Harvey wrote the liner notes for the CD reissues of Carole King’s Tapestry, The Essential Carole King, Allen Ginsberg’s Kaddish, Elvis Presley The ’68 Comeback Special, The Ramones’ End of the Century and Big Brother & the Holding Company Captured Live at The Monterey International Pop Festival.

In November 2006, Harvey was asked to address the preservation and archiving of audio tapes at special hearings convened by the Library of Congress held in Hollywood, California. In July 2017, Kubernik was a guest speaker at the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame’s Library & Archives Author Series in Cleveland, Ohio, discussing his 2017 book 1967 A Complete Rock Music History of the Summer of Love.